by Sariann Rogers

What’s in a Name?

Lola Alice. Clients and friends inquire to me all the time “what is Lola Alice”?  A smile comes over my face as I begin to explain that Lola is my Grandmother’s name, and Alice, is my Great Grandmothers name.  A legacy I guess.  Two very strong, loving, kind women that even though my time with them was short, I learned a lot about woman-hood from. Since I primarily shoot women in their completeness and rawness, what more perfect than to honor my photography with their names.

I love shooting vintage.  I can picture my Great Grandmother, Alice, (also known as “Nanny”), baking in her kitchen, spoiling me with goodies, and tender-hearted kisses and hugs.  She is someone I know would be proud of me.  I feel her with me quite often, and I use her beauty, inside and out, as inspiration for my work.  Lola is timeless to me.  And so is her spirit.  Together, Lola Alice, expresses love, beauty, sincerity, and the ability to find all women beautiful, meaningful, and nothing less than a gorgeous creation.


Leave a comment